Clique: Time for the Annual Barkada Shot

I guess there are just some things (well, maybe lots) that we’ll never outgrow.

One thing I’ll never get tired of or outgrow are the barkada (clique or group of friends) and family pics. Hahaha!

So forgive my penchant for nostalgia as I post some photos of our high school barkada’s dinner and “reunion” last Friday evening. I consider them God’s blessings. We practically grew up together and have been friends through thick and thin (literally and figuratively). Our friendship go a long way back – wait, let me do the math. I think at least 20 years now. Hmmm, grade six until today. Go figure.:)

I still remember my dad fuming mad at us during our HS prom as we were all very late for the event as we got tangled up at the Colours Photo Studio along Mango Ave. beside Rustans supermarket then just to have our group pic taken. He was the one driving us to the event and he waited for us for a loooong time. ;D

Guess the younger kids don’t remember that place anymore. Now all they have is a smartphone + Instagram or Facebook and instant upload. Then we had recopies and negatives. Ooh la la! So old, I am!

Among the times we’d get to reunite and bond again are Annabelle’s birthday (August), her son N.’s birthday (October) and Christmas when our friends who are living and working in Singapore come home to spend the holidays here.

Here’s our latest pic together minus half of the group. Two could not join us. Two are in Singapore and one is based in Manila. So it was just the 6 of us but oh was it a noisy, fun and “bulabog” (unruly) 6. Hah! I dare say these are some of the times when I keep forgetting I’m in my 30s already and no longer in high school. ;D

My first time at Dolce last Friday and oh how I loved the interiors and the lighting! The place is one-of-a-kind.

Okay, now I’m going to post some through-the-years group pics that we’ve had every time we bond. As always, no matter how fun it is to catch up and update each other about what’s going on with our lives, the talk almost always goes back to our high school crushes, the fun that we had in school and the fond memories of old classmates and teachers! As if! We’ve been friends for so long that we’re already used to each other’s quirks and idiosyncrasies and yet still discover new things about each other every now and then.:)

Thank You, Jesus, for friends who are like wine. The older, the better it gets. πŸ™‚

UZ at Annabelle’s pension house last year – August 2011

Baby Eya’s birthday (Diya’s daughter) Diya is the sexy mommy in purple. πŸ™‚

Nathan’s birthday, October 2011 with Aaliyah, our honorary member πŸ™‚

our annual Christmas get-together, December 2011

Annabelle’s birthday, 2010 at Cafe Laguna

August 2010

Dinner with the hubbies, January 2009 πŸ™‚

UZ THEN…Brace yourself for some really geeky and old school pics. Hahaha!:)

Pics courtesy of our friend A.’s FB album

Look at them then πŸ™‚ hahahaha! funny!

Senior year field trip at Philippine Dream (this is UZ with our male barkada counterpart) hahaha! so cliquish and childish that time! (That’s me at the rightmost side) hahaha

high school graduation πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Clique: Time for the Annual Barkada Shot

  1. Love, love, love these pictures! You are so incredibly blessed to have kept such a close group of friends all these years. I don’t know about there, but people don’t tend to stay in the same place they grew up here. They move for jobs or they go to a school in another state and stay there when they graduate. Their friendships are reduced to Christmas cards and an occasional phone call during the year.

    • Hi Susan! Thanks, it sure is a blessing! We’ve been friends for two decades now. Whew, that old! hehehe πŸ™‚

      Your comment made me think about that fact – I mean to have this group all these years. I thought this was the same for most of us until my sister pointed this out too last night. That it was fun and nice to be able to meet up and have our pic together every now and then. I thought this was reality for most people and friendships.

  2. Love the pictures of you and your friends, Yen!! I have a group of friends just like that and we have pictures that go way back !! God bless your friends and you Yen and may you have many more times to make memories. πŸ™‚

    • That’s nice! They are a blessing indeed. And it sure is fun looking at the pictures that take you down memory lane. πŸ™‚ Thank you, Lyds, and likewise for you and your friends too!

Selah. What do you think?

