Weekly Photo Challenge: Create

Painting/Drawing and playing an instrument like the piano are two of my frustrations now that I’m older.  When I was a young kid, my mom enrolled me in music classes every summer but I never finished any of my piano and guitar lessons.  The reason?  My old and strict piano teacher frightened me.  She was like straight out of a “A Little Princess” scene with a stick in her hand.  I never went back after she hit my fingers with the stick after she caught me daydreaming and unfocused during piano class.

That was the last time I ever said hi to a piano again.  Today, I regret giving it up and not pushing through with the lessons inspite of that stick.  But of course crying over spilled milk doesn’t help.

Good thing Lydia – a sweet blogger friend of mine – said that it’s never too late to learn playing the piano again.  So I’m planning to take one lesson at a time once I’ll be able to fit the lessons in my schedule. 🙂  I’m really excited.  Playing the piano is sweeter the second time around, I think.

The guitar lessons, on the other hand, were a different story.  I quit playing it after my short fingers could not quite get the chords right and the strings left painful marks on them.  They both have the same story as the piano.  I gave up on the first sign of pain. Ugh.  In retrospect, that would have taught me well if I didn’t give up despite the pain as it is somehow like life.  Pain makes us grow and makes us better people if only we’ll face it and learn from it instead of running away.  Kinda like the muscle pains we feel when exercising or hitting the 3k, 5k or 10k mark.  🙂

Well, I’m digressing from the Create challenge.  You see like playing an instrument painting and drawing were also two things I “skipped” as a child.  I did not believe I could draw at all so I did not even think of learning how to.  But two years as a preschool teacher taught me that all it takes is guts and taking a step.  That’s what my students taught and showed me.  They never thought they could not draw so they did not have limitations at all.  They just drew from their imagination, from their hearts and from what they could see.  And ta-ta!

So here I am sharing some of my drawings with you.  I dabbled on painting, drawing and doodling last year and got hooked.  Here’s a “Get Well Soon, Anna” drawing that I made for my niece when she got sick last weekend and had to be admitted to the hospital.  🙂  Of course, it’s pink since that’s her favorite color.  It’s just a pity that the scanner and the camera cannot quite capture the vibrant pink flower.

3 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Create

Selah. What do you think?

