STC stint

Even now I am still amazed at how God moved on my behalf for this stint at STC.  It was not something I had planned or even thought about.  Okay, maybe for a split second I thought about it once last year but it was never a serious one.  Oh, the suddenlies of God!

It was a typical Saturday afternoon and I was finishing off my lesson plan simulation.  The three nights before that were toxic.  I could not move and make my lesson plan from scratch.  How was I to do it?  The thought of making a plan was daunting to me.  It was Saturday morning that I finished off in the physical what my mind had only outlined and conceived.  I wanted to chicken out and skip class but then I remembered that nobody wins a battle or the war by running away.  I decided to go.

Good thing I went and presented my lesson.  Ms. D asked me after my simulation {out of  curiosity} how I deal with the younger ones since my demeanor and personality was for older kids, read:  college students.  She then asked me if I was interested in teaching college kids again since they were looking for a History teacher.  Wow!  I remember being ecstatic about it that I couldn’t give a very impressive or coherent response.  Overwhelmed was one word that described how I felt.  I knew it was a God-thing.  I had already laid that desire down at the altar and told Him I would follow Him where He’ll take me.  I had not dreamt that I would, one day, go back to teaching young people again though deep in my heart I had always told Him I still wanted to do so.

with my Nursery kids reading a tale about fishes and sharks

So there, God is bringing me to new places, new people and new experiences.  One thing that strikes me now is that it truly is effortless.  It was Ms. D who contacted the registrar.  I told myself that if M. would give her “yes” to this then this is God.  My co-teacher, Teacher M. told me that it sounded impossible that M. would allow me to teach in another school.  Lo and behold, when M. replied her words were very positive, supportive and encouraging.  I was dumbfounded.  God truly works in ways that are higher than what we can think of or even imagine.

This week, God told me during worship that it’s all about Him and His Kingdom and what He wants to do through me at STC and in this generation.  Yes, there are things He has asked me to give up but – step by step – I’m seeing that it is because He has plans and agendas that need to be laid out before a generation and a nation and sometimes the things that are precious to me get in His way. 🙂

One more thing:  God redeems and He is a God who gives us a million chances again.  He redeemed and continues to redeem my mistakes at DC almost four years ago and now He is redeeming my loss and failure in teaching in the college level again.  This time I have learned not to take His blessings lightly and take them for granted.

2 thoughts on “STC stint

  1. Amen, teach. Ohohoho. I look forward to sitting in one of your classes one of these days and seeing that sparkle in your eyes again when you’re teaching. You’ve certainly got it in you. Your happiness when you talk about what you love (History), your experiences, your students, and your friends; it’s all awe-inspiring.

    Good luck and God Bless, teach! Take and remember Him every step of the way. He surely has great plans for you especially when He has made you a great and special person!

    • 🙂 Thank you, Kas! That’s very nice of you. So it shows, huh? The love for history. I got to talk to the dean this morning and enjoyed talking to her. I also bumped into Gene and Kyle on my way home. They’ll be taking Law this sem at USC. Astig!;)

Selah. What do you think?

