straightly curly

Growing up, my hair was the bane of my existence, so to speak.  I hated the thick kinky (sometimes wavy) hair that I had inherited from my dad and mom’s side.  It was like all the curl and the waves were poured into me when I was conceived. hahaha!  It took me at least 30 years to accept it.  Yes, it has only been this year that I made a real conscious decision to accept it and not have it rebonded again as the curls took over the straightiness of the strands after two or three months.

Lo and behold, I began liking it.  I started falling in love with my hair after it started to grow long and I had it colored to a certain shade of brown.  One of my very good friends from church told me: “This is more you, Yen.  This is your personality.”  I had to admit she was right.  So, Lord, I think you made this hair for a reason and You like it that way.  I guess I’ll just have to accept it, enjoy it and look for ways to spruce it up when I start getting tired of the style, color and length. 😉  Still, this is my first time after 31 years that I’m grateful God made me curly.

13 For you created my inmost being;
you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well. – Psalm 139: 13-14

2 thoughts on “straightly curly

  1. My hair was very wavy when I was younger, but after the three kids, it’s fairly straight. Sure would love that wavy hair back now! I can’t believe I hated it so much as a teenager that I had my girlfriend iron it for me! I think you are beautiful with your curly locks.

    • hahaha! I can’t believe you had wavy hair back then. It’s a beautiful straight bob right now. It took a long time to accept it but I’ve to agree with you on the curly locks.:) thanks!

Selah. What do you think?

