broken thoughts

I just have to write this, to let it out. My heart is broken. I was in tears when I read the news in Yahoo Philippines after a co-teacher told me that Angelo Reyes had shot himself. No, I am not a fan of the guy. I even doubt his innocence but I’ll honor what my Dad often tells me when it comes to issues like this – “innocent until proven otherwise” in court. My heart broke for the Philippines. Tears came to my eyes (my co-teacher was looking at me, surprised) as I read about the generals’ houses and their wives’ travels.


I grieved because the evening before Reyes shot himself, I had lain awake deep into the night with the line playing in my mind like a song in Repeat mode: “What will it take to change this nation, Lord?” What will it take to awaken the Filipinos from their cynicism, hopelessness and acceptance of what’s in front of us? How long will we tolerate what’s in our land? So Reyes’ death was a shock for me. Even for someone who didn’t know him personally. The first thought that rushed to my mind was “he’s guilty or why would he kill himself?” The next one was “he didn’t even think of what this will do to his sons and daughters.” I don’t know. I don’t want to judge him because I have no right. Only God can do that. More than anger at the AFP corruption, my heart was broken at all these revelations. Jesus, help us. The Philippines really needs you at this time. I know that we are at the brink of a deep change in the land.

Selah. What do you think?

