Arms Wide Open

WHEREVER YOU ARE, BE ALL THERE.- Jim Elliot

At the start of 2011, I asked God for specific strategies on how I could turn this nation to Him.  It’s interesting how His ways can be so opposite ours.  We think He moves in a certain way but He never fails to surprise us.  God gave me very practical ways (in addition, to the spiritual strategies) for reaching the people around me.  I had a good laugh but it was sobering for me, too.

Here are the ways He gave me:

1. Be EARLY.  Okay, I confess I come in late more often than desired.  His hand of conviction was on my heart about this.  If I can’t be faithful with the small but important things, how can I be trusted with the bigger things?  Good thing God helps you honor your desire to obey Him when you choose to.:)

2. Excellence and honor.  Honor your boss and workmates.  Do everything with excellence.  My good friend Mitzil said that she believes this is important to God because the people in our workplace can’t see our hearts raised up to God but they will believe that God is in us through our actions.

3.  Pray, pray and pray.  For my co-teachers, for my students, for my boss, the parents and the people around me.  My loved ones, friends and my cell group.  And most of all, He impressed on me the urgency and importance of praying for my leaders.  Pray and intercede for this city and the Philippines.

2 thoughts on “Arms Wide Open

  1. To: Yen, Riz and the Pinay Gypsie collectively and individually

    From: Solomon a.k.a Regulus

    During a dry spell at work on Friday, January 14, 2011, i.e. yesterday, I was surfing the net. I was wondering what was up with my former boss, Abu Bako, so I typed his name into Google and one of the links led me to your blog Riz. I read quite a bit and I was very impressed and blessed. Impressed to see a pretty, young adult sold out for God and occupied with God. I read a number of posts and followed a link to your page Yen. As I read and saw your posts, I was further blown away—in a good way of course. Here was another pretty lady on fire for and passionate about Holy Spirit. Then finally I ended up on your page Counter cultural dreamer—pinay gypsie. The beauty of His Glory also shone through your posts. WOW is what I can say. None of you sounded fake. It was real stuff I could relate too.

    As a collective you all ministered to me powerfully. Thank you. Different sections of posts on each blog answered pressing questions in my mind. Our Daddy, the most High God, Lover of our souls used your blogs to keep me sound and free from the mental assault that the dragon was trying to unleash on my mind. You see, I have had a pretty good year thus far being ministered to by Him and ministering to Him. But for some reason, Friday, I was struggling with a number of issues—being a single male in my early thirties was one of them. It was as if God used your blogs to show me I was not alone plus singleness was not a waste of time. No time spent with Him and in Him ever is.
    I love how you wrote passionately about Him as your Lover. Awesome! He is mine too. He’s been the only immovable, stable factor in my life—always dependable and faithful.

    You know that scripture that says we overcome the dragon i.e. satan or the devil by ‘the blood of the Lamb, and by the word of our testimony’ in Rev 12:11, that’s what happened. Each of your testimonies in its own special way was used to encourage me and consequently give me victory over the attack that was against me. Thanks for being faithful to Him and in your faithfulness to Him, supplying by default what this joint (me) needed.

    Eph 4:16 KJV
    (16) From whom the whole body fitly joined together and compacted by that which every joint supplieth, according to the effectual working in the measure of every part, maketh increase of the body unto the edifying of itself in love.

    Your words strengthened my shield of faith and enabled me to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked hurled at me. Thanks again.
    I should not be amazed but I still am that though we are oceans apart, Holy Spirit knowing that we are one and complete in Christ uses your blogs to bless me over here in Africa. How wonderful the Grace of God is. We are oceans apart and yet still one family in Him. What an awesome though to have you as family.

    God bless you and your year with His fatness and fulfillment.
    You ladies are royalty—Princesses of the Most High, Kings and Priests unto Him. You remind me of something the beloved David said and I believe it applies to you. He wrote:

    Psa 144:12 KJV
    (12) That our sons may be as plants grown up in their youth; that our daughters may be as corner stones, polished after the similitude of a palace:

    Cornerstones or pillars of ancient palaces were regal, polished, magnificent, stately, lovely, beautiful and sumptuously adorned. Check different translations and you’ll see I’m right on the money. They were extraordinarily sturdy to give structure, form and stability to the royal house. This is what each of you lovely ladies are—sculptured corner pillars hewn for the palace He ordained you for from the foundations of the earth.

    Keep well, stay blessed. Pass by my blogs sometime. They are:

    http://doubtproof.wordpress.com/
    http://truthlifelight.wordpress.com/

    I just started both this month.. Your blogs are lovely. As soon as I can learn how, I’ll try and add y’all to my favorite blogs if that is ok.
    Bless you Daughter(s) of the Most High King. Have a blessed, happy, prosperous, fortunate and enviable weekend and year.

Selah. What do you think?

