small boy, big faith

My co-teacher’s son was left to Ms. Lyn’s and my care ‘coz it was her level’s Special Day. I picked Josef up from the Kinder classroom and brought him to our room for lunch. The utility guy was probably out stranded in the heavy rain buying his chicken and rice. Josef was telling me about having chicken and rice for lunch and I could tell he was looking forward to it. Thirty minutes had passed and still there was no sign of the chicken and rice. So, the conversation in our classroom went this way…

Ms. Lyn: Teacher Yen, please tell Josef to eat now.
T. Yen: Oh, his chicken and rice are here now?
Ms. Lyn: No, but I saved half of my egg so he can have it for lunch.

T. Yen goes to Josef who’s reading a book by the mat.

T. Yen: Josef, please eat now. Ms. Lyn left some egg for you.
Josef: No, I don’t want to eat. I’ll wait for my chicken and rice.
T. Yen: Do you have a class at 1pm? What if your chicken gets here at 1pm?

Josef doesn’t answer Teacher. He just goes on to read the book. I surmised that he was dead-set on waiting for his chicken, so I let him be. It was probably ten to fifteen minutes after that exchange that the utility guy arrived and brought him his meal. Josef was a happy camper now and Teacher Yen learned a good, very visual, in-my-face lesson about waiting and faith.

Lesson: As I saw him eating his chicken (I had to cut it in strips for him and get him to sit down), God spoke to me so clearly about waiting for what He promised to me. In Josef’s case, his mom had promised him chicken and rice. He was not about to be sidetracked by some half egg and half rice. ๐Ÿ™‚ He waited for what his mom had promised even if it was raining so hard. He didn’t even think the heavy rain could stop the guy from bringing his chicken. hahaha what faith!

God then told me to wait forย His promise instead of settling for what’s available. Case in point here is that my partner teacher wanted to set me up with a guy from the US who’ll be arriving here on the 18th. I was having second thoughts about waiting (and i mean really waiting) for who God has for me and try to meet up with this guy even if my Mom had already told me “No.”

But seeing the chicken and the rice and the little boy eating it was like God speaking to me in loud volumes. The meal got here just in time (it wasn’t even late) IN SPITE OF THE SUPERDUPER HEAVY RAIN. Okay, Lord, I get it. ๐Ÿ™‚

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him and He will make your paths straight.

2 thoughts on “small boy, big faith

  1. Pingback: a lesson on waiting, from a kindergarten student « doubtproof

Selah. What do you think?

