Honor and Excellence

“I finally decided to join the bandwagon of UPians who watched Dr. Solita Monsod’s video about Honor and Excellence. As she kept on enumerating all these UP graduates who went on to be leaders in this nation, tears came to my eyes as I realized how ironic it was that we were called and looked up as “future leaders” but that she asks the question every Filipino must have asked “Why are we where we are now?”

And to that question I again submit – with all due respect – what I’ve told every taxi driver, every former student I have had, my co-workers and friends that it is not brilliance or intellect that will change this nation.  IT IS ONLY JESUS.  Only a God-thing.

I was talking to my close friend, Mitzil, last night and I shared how my faith in seeing this nation change in a day and turn back to God has so intensified that I can almost feel it, see it even in the little things and taste it. But if you look at society today in the physical, there’s not much to see to reinforce that belief but it’s a burning in my heart.  I don’t even understand it.

And so I am reposting this video of Dr. Monsod.  I may not agree with everything that she says here but I agree with her about honor and excellence and how cheating in the small stuff can lead us to cheat in the bigger things.  She has the best of intentions but she left out the BEST factor when it comes to changing a nation:  God. But we also need people like her who will SPEAK OUT THE TRUTH and say it out loud.

I pray that more University students will rise up to use their intellect according to the ways of the Kingdom of God, not relying on their own strength but in the power of the Holy Ghost.  I dream of PhDs and graduates who will serve the people to promote righteousness and justice instead of merely looking for fame and fortune.  People who will march forward with the love of the Father, who will love their neighbors as they love themselves.  I am dreaming of a generation who will lay down their lives to see this nation change and turn back to God and in so doing they will establish righteousness and justice for those who cannot afford, for those who don’t have access to privileges.

I remember talking with Jun last Thursday and he said that if he were given a chance to choose between seeing righteousness and justice established in the Philippines and signs and wonders, he’d choose the former.  But as I kept thinking about it, I realized that signs and wonders could actually be an avenue or a gateway for righteousness and justice to be established.  Or isn’t seeing that established a sign and a wonder in itself? 🙂

6 thoughts on “Honor and Excellence

  1. “Or isn’t seeing that established a sign and a wonder in itself?” – I agree with this.

    I think too that the point is not to choose between righteousness & miracles! The point is to bring God’s Kingdom here on earth and the Kingdom is both righteousness and miracles. It’s not about what “we prefer” but what God desires, which is both. And yes you are right that signs and wonders are avenues. Because they are expressions of God’s LOVE and it is God’s love that changes man and society.

    We need eyes and wings atzi (Xtreme Disciples track). We press on to seek how God wants us to advance His Kingdom in our specific sphere. Go atzi go!

    I love Winnie’s radical spirit atzi. And what she says about giving back. Just awesome.

    • you’re right, riz. ang eyes and wings track din ang naisip ko while i was writing this. 😉 lately, God has been bringing me back to the place of dreaming again and believing that He can and will change this nation. for quite some time, disappointment stole that hope kasi. but God is above all things even the bitterest of disappointments!

  2. cheating in the small stuff can lead us to cheat in the bigger things. She has the best of intentions but she left out the BEST factor when it comes to changing a nation: God. But we also need people like her who will SPEAK OUT THE TRUTH and say it out loud.

Selah. What do you think?

